Which Side is Up?

Ever had the problem in handling abstract art, where you don’t know which side is the top? Tatiana L. Sougakova of Plainsboro decided to have fun with this idea, and created a series of artwork she’s playfully titled “flippables.” Her work can be seen at Small World Coffee in Princeton through April 7.

“I have noticed that people  are often very unsure which side up is abstract art,” she writes.  “So, unless you have a prominent signature in the corner, it is very difficult to read artist’s mind. Why not engage the viewers and let them participate in the creative process, or at least in the interpretation of the work, I would ask?  Maybe it is possible to create art that would be very serious and ambitious during the creative process, but playful and joyful at the same time during the viewing (if the viewer does not want to read too deeply into it).  This type of art would provide versatility in placement, and  would look great in the personal space, remaining a serious work of art at the same time.”

Ms. Sougakova’s artwork has vivid colors, organic lines, shapes and patterns open to many different interpretations from the viewer. During the creative process many layers of contemplation and analogies are embedded in every canvas.

“Only a fraction of my work are flippables,” she continues, “but they are the main focus of the show at Small World. Not all of them are four-way flippables either, there some two-way flippables, the arrow on the back indicates the direction.”

Oh, arrows — it would have been more fun to guess.

About ilenedube

Ilene Dube is a writer, artist, filmmaker and curator. Her short stories have been published in more than a dozen literary journals and anthologies, and hundreds of her art reviews, features and essays have appeared at Hyperallergic, Philadelphia Public Media, Huffington Post, Sculpture Magazine and other media. Her short documentaries on art movements of central New Jersey have been featured at the New Jersey Film Festival, Nassau Film Festival, Trenton Film Festival and elsewhere.
This entry was posted in Abstract art, Central NJ Art and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Which Side is Up?

  1. bob justin says:

    Hi Tatiana, Very nice work! I agree that some work needs the interpertation of the viewer. I recently sold four ink drawings of a abstract style, three of which were signed. The purchaser asked that I sign
    the fourth. I respectfully refused, as I felt that one should be hung in any of four ways depending on the viewer’s mood. The buyer was assured that I had signed the drawing in question in pencil in the center of the paper. bob justin

  2. Tatiana L.Sougakova says:

    Dear Bob,Thank you – I really value your opinion!
    I just looked up your website and I think I might guess which drawing you were describing. I enjoyed your last show at the Plainsboro Library (always do)!
    Talking about FLIPPABLES -I was hoping someone would have a similar idea – this way it would mean we are really onto something. You described precisely how I think this type of artwork could be approached – the owner would simply switch the direction depending on day/mood/light.I started signing everything on the back. There are a few works where I signed all 4 corners in the front…

  3. What a charming idea, Ilene – and thank you for alerting us to this lively array!

    Best in all ways, Carolyn

Leave a comment