Still Water

In another century, Joanne Scott lived and painted in Skillman, NJ. I took a class with her at Princeton Adult School, then continued to study with her in the barn on her magnificent property. She encouraged us to paint en plein air and took us on field trips, but her own farm was so rich with imagery, from the antiques inside to the old red pickup truck outside, there was always plenty of subject matter. As a painting teacher, she had a profound influence on me, and I was sad when she left the area.

The Coryell Gallery will be exhibiting her work, along with George Van Hook’s, Nov. 23 to Jan. 25, 2009. Joanne, who works in watercolors and acrylics, has said “This exhibit is devoted to the island of Monhegan, an island 12 miles off  the mid coast of Maine, a soul-place where I have summered and painted for 30  years.  What drew me there was its diversity of landscape and the vast opportunity for inspiration. I am delighted to have this chance to share my love for this magic place which has given so much to me over these many years.”

Indeed, all the way back in the 1980s, Joanne was talking about Monhegan Island, where she escaped to every summer, and on her advice I traveled there, taking delight in the island’s magic. I remember little fairy villages created throughout the moss-covered woods.

Returning to Monhegan in recent years, I’ve found it to be overrun with tourists (see my blog post on 9/28/08), but whenever I go I’m sure to stop in at Joanne’s studio, right near the ferry landing. There’s always a calm tranquility in all her paintings. I remember she was a Quaker, and I think that spirituality emanates from her scenes of the natural world.

Now a resident of Maryland,  Joanne has had many exhibitions throughout  the East Coast, winning  prestigious awards at the Baltimore Museum and the  Corcoran Gallery of Art in Washington, D.C.,  as well as the Garden State Watercolor Society and the Maryland Federation of the Arts.   She has also written books of poetry.

This entry was posted in Plein Air and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Still Water

  1. Dear Ilene,
    Just LOVE Janet Hunt and her Coryell Gallery, and ‘in another century’ knew Joanne Scott, I believe through Dotty Bissell and early Princeton Artists Alliance.

    Thank you for alerting me to this show. Tasha o’Neill is taking me on a birthday search for firewood on Saturday, over toward Bucks County. We may well pop in to experience Joanne’s tranquillity after fulfilling our woodquest.

    This blog — how did we ever live without it?

    best! Carolyn (Foote Edelmann)

  2. Francine says:

    I love your artwork. The still water is gorgeous. Would you mind looking at my site on Etsy? I am a decouper, but I have some other items up for now. Etsy.com, Exclusively Yours, username Vorbi1. Thanks much.

Leave a Reply

